Men's Golf

Van Sickle Named Semifinalist For The Ben Hogan Award

April 16, 2009

VIDEO: Watch 'Hogan Semifinalist' Announcement on

MILWAUKEE - Marquette University senior Mike Van Sickle has been selected as one of 10 semifinalists for the 2009 The Ben Hogan Award presented by Chesapeake Energy, in association with the Colonial Country Club and The Friends of Golf (FOG), it was announced Thursday by the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA).

The Ben Hogan Award is considered one of the most prestigious awards in the college golf. It is presented annually by the GCAA to the top men's player in NCAA Division I, II, or III, NAIA or NJCAA, taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during a 12-month period.

Other semifinalists for this year's honor are Jorge Campillo (Indiana), Bud Cauley (Alabama), Rickie Fowler (Oklahoma State), Matthew Giles (USC), Morgan Hoffman (Oklahoma State), Billy Horschel (Florida), Kyle Stanley (Clemson), Nick Taylor (Washington) and Cameron Tringale (Georgia Tech).

Van Sickle was named to the official "Watch List" back in February. Three finalists for the award will be announced on May 7. Finalists are invited to Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas, for the Hogan Award presentation on May 22.

Van Sickle is coming off his school-record 11th collegiate victory this past Tuesday at the Palisades Collegiate Classic. It was Van Sickle's fifth title of the season. He currently leads the nation in scoring average (69.63), among several other statistical categories, and is one of the top-ranked collegiate players in the country and one of the top-ranked amateurs in the world.

A native of Wexford, Pa., Van Sickle became the first amateur in the 92-year history of the Pennsylvania Open Championship to win the event in back-to-back seasons, and also won the Pennsylvania Amateur Championship in 2008. Additionally, he posted top finishes at some of the most competitive amateur events in the world this past summer, including the Southern Amateur (T-2nd), the Porter Cup (3rd) and the Northeast Amateur (T-4th), in addition to qualifying for his first U.S. Amateur.

The Ben Hogan Award - 2009 Semifinalists
Jorge Campillo, Indiana
Bud Cauley, Alabama
Rickie Fowler, Oklahoma State
Matthew Giles, USC
Morgan Hoffman, Oklahoma State
Billy Horschel, Florida
Kyle Stanley, Clemson
Nick Taylor, Washington
Cameron Tringale, Georgia Tech
Mike Van Sickle, Marquette

Print Friendly Version

Players Mentioned