MU's Cody Haberkorn

Track & Field

Golden Eagles Start Strong at Meyo Invitational

Feb. 6, 2015


NOTRE DAME, Indiana -- The Marquette University men's and women's track and field teams got off to a great start this weekend at the Meyo Invitational, hosted by Notre Dame, with the women's distance medley relay team of Jessica Parker, Cassy Goodrich, Jennifer Parker, and Kellie Greenwood setting a new program record and winning the event title with a time of 11:32.69.

In the 4,000-meter distance medley relay, Jessica Parker notched a 2:32 in her leg, Goodrich a 54.9, Jennifer Parker a 2:14, while Greenwood brought the Blue and Gold home with a 4:51. MU's distance medley relay squad ousted thirteen other teams and defeated the second place finishing unit of Toledo by nearly three seconds.

Brittney Feivor turned a personal-best performance in the 5,000-meter run, notching a 16:55. Feivor's seventh place performance in a field of more than 50 competitors, earned her the fourth-best 5,000-meter mark in program history. Teammate Elisia Meyle also finished within the top 25. Anna Strong contributed a personal-best effort, recording a 25.58 in the 200-meter run, which is the No. 8 spot in program history. Arra Strong completed the race just narrowly behind her sister with a time of 25.98.

On the men's side, Blake Lawson ran a 15:07 with Cody Haberkorn just behind with a time of 15:11 in the 5,000-meter run. Both Lawson's and Haberkorn's finishes were personal bests.

Marquette's runners return to action at the Meyo Invitational, tomorrow, Saturday, Feb. 7 beginning with Marc DiVerde in the 3,000-meter run at 10:25 a.m. Central time. Along with the 27 runners in action at the Meyo Invitational for the Golden Eagles, high jumper Wally Ellenson will also see action when he appears in the high jump at 1:00 p.m. In addition to those competing at Notre Dame, a group of 24 comprised of mostly throwers and jumpers, will compete at the Parkside Classic on the campus of UW-Parkside Saturday. The men's weight throw group opens up the competition in Somers, Wisconsin at 10 a.m., with MU's Brett Hardin, William Koeck and Joel McBride all taking part in the action.

Print Friendly Version

Players Mentioned