Academics and Student Programs

Honors and Awards

Gold Status

Each year at Marquette University, hundreds of student-athletes compete at the highest level for their respective sport. While the majority of people will notice their on-field accomplishments, often the individuals' efforts off the field remain un-publicized.

One of the many groups at Marquette University that is dedicated to assist and honor Marquette student-athletes is the Academic Support Staff. Beginning in September and running through April, the Academic Support Staff will pick four student-athletes that consistently excelled academically, athletically and in the community.


BIG EAST All-Academic Team

The BIG EAST All-Academic Team is rewarded to those student-athletes who achieve a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher for that particular school year with over 18 credits completed.

  • 2015-2016: 195 recipients
  • 2014-2015: 186 recipients

BIG EAST Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award

The BIG EAST Academic Affairs committee selects the BIG EAST Male Scholar Athlete and BIG EAST Female Scholar Athlete from each member institution based on their academic and athletic achievements. Each winner is awarded $2,000 postgraduate scholarship.

  • 2015-2016: Nicholas Ebert, Erin Holland
  • 2014-2015: Patrick Sanchez, Meghan Niemann
  • 2013-2014: Axel Sjoberg

BIG EAST Scholar-Athlete Sport Excellence Award

The BIG EAST Scholar-Athlete Sport Excellence Awards are given to one student-athlete in each Big East sponsored sport based on academic credentials, athletic accolades or performance and volunteer service to the community.

Student-athletes must have attained junior academic standing, as well as a minimum cumulative grade-point average of 3.00 to be considered eligible for the award. The winners are chosen by the BIG EAST Faculty Athletics Representative Council.

  • 2015-2016: BJ Grill, Tatyana Pashibin, Meghan Niemann, Patrick Sanchez-Mitchell
  • 2014-2015: Jordan Greenfield, Patrick Sanchez-Mitchell, Axel Sjoberg
  • 2013-2014: Charlie Lyon, Emily Jacobson, Elizabeth Koberstein

Marquette Awards

Ralph Metcalfe Awards

The Ralph Metcalfe Senior Awards are one of the highest honors for Marquette athletics and are awarded to a senior male and female student-athlete who demonstrates in the following categories:

  • Leadership Through Services to Others
  • Leadership Through Academic Success
  • Leadership Through Athletic Success

Metcalfe, who these awards are named after is known as the greatest Marquette athlete of all time, representing Marquette as a stellar college athlete and setting a world record representing the United States in the Olympics.

In addition to his athletic accomplishments he embodied the Marquette University mission by swerving his community through his role in the United State Congress.

Leadership Through Service to Others

  • 2016-2017: Abigail Busse, Ryan Geller
  • 2015-2016: Tatyana Pashibin, Brett Tobin
  • 2014-2015: Maggie Edlebeck, Adam Chester

Leadership Through Academic Excellence

  • 2016-2017: Meghan Niemann, Kristiyan Trukov
  • 2015-2016: Sarah Poirier, Brett Hornung
  • 2014-2015: Elisa Meyle, Axel Sjoberg

Leadership Through Athletic Excellence

  • 2016-2017: Morgan Proffitt, John Krzyszkowski
  • 2015-2016: Jacie Jermier, BJ Grill
  • 2014-2015: Mary Luba, Jordan Greenfield

Cura Personalis Award

The Cura Personalis Award established in 1996 by the Student-Athlete Council, is given annually to a student-athlete who has gone beyond the athletic arena to make a significant contribution to their teammates and fellow athletes. Cura Personalis or care for the person is essential of the Jesuit tradition of education.

  • 2016-2017: Erin Holland
  • 2015-2016: Jake Richard
  • 2014-2015: Haley Loprieno
  • 2013-2014: John Mau

Presidents Award

The Presidents Award is presented to one student-athlete who has achieved the most outstanding success in both athletics and academics, and embodies the spirit of Marquette Athletics.

  • 2016-2017: Morgan Proffitt
  • 2015-2016: Tatyana Pashibin
  • 2014-2015: Charlie Lyon

Magis Team Spirit Cup

Magis means "more" in Latin. Magis for student-athletes means being involved in both academic and community service activities to ensure that they leave Marquette with "more" than just an athletic experience. The annual Magis Team Spirit Award is given annually to the team that exhibits the greatest commitment to the support of their fellow athletes, involvement of community service, and excellence in academics.

  • 2016-2017: Women's Soccer
  • 2015-2016: Women's Basketball
  • 2014-2015: Women's Track & Field
  • 2013-2014: Women's Lacrosse

Chi Alpha Sigma

Chi Alpha Sigma is the Honor Society for Collegiate Athletes. Membership requires achieving a 3.4 or higher cumulative grade-point average with over 60 credits completed. This is the Chi Alpha Sigma website:

  • 2016-2017: 38 recipients
  • 2015-2016: 44 recipients
  • 2014-2015: 40 recipients

4.0 Club

Marquette student-athletes who received a perfect grade-point average of 4.0 are listed with their name and picture on the Wall of Fame within the Eagles Nest.

  • 2016-2017: 38 recipients
  • 2015-2016: 39 recipients
Print Friendly Version