Chris Otule and MU will open against CS Fullerton at The Wooden Legacy.

Men's Basketball

Matchups Announced For The Wooden Legacy

July 17, 2013

Wooden Legacy Bracket Get Acrobat Reader

The bracket for the 2013 Wooden Legacy - held Thanksgiving weekend, Thursday, Friday and Sunday, Nov. 28-29 and Dec. 1 in Anaheim near Disneyland - has been confirmed for the eight teams competing: Arizona State, Cal State Fullerton, College of Charleston, Creighton, George Washington, Marquette, Miami and San Diego State.

Ten of the 12 games will be aired on ESPN, ESPN2 and ESPNU. With one of the Friday, Nov. 29 semifinals to be carried by either ESPN or ESPN2, the bracket features five tournament games on ESPNU, four contests on ESPN2, including the Championship Game on Sunday, Dec. 1 at 9:30 p.m. ET. ESPN3 will have the two additional games.

The 2013 Wooden Legacy will be held at two sites. The opening two rounds will be played at Titan Gym on the campus of Cal State Fullerton on Thursday, Nov. 28 and Friday, Nov. 29. The games then move to Honda Center with four placement contests featuring the championship game between the remaining unbeaten schools on Sunday, Dec. 1.

The 2013 Wooden Legacy highlights:

  • ESPNU will air first-round action between Miami vs. George Washington at 2 p.m. and College of Charleston vs. San Diego State at 8:30 p.m.
  • ESPN2 will carry the additional first-round games featuring Marquette vs. Cal State Fullerton at 4:30 p.m. and Creighton vs. Arizona State at 11 p.m.
  • Six of the eight teams advanced to 2012 postseason play, including Creighton, Marquette, Miami and San Diego State in the NCAA Championship
  • Additional information, including travel packages, can be found on the event web site at or on twitter at

The Wooden Legacy was formed as two vibrant, nationally-recognized in-season collegiate basketball events join forces. The former John R. Wooden Classic will combine with the Anaheim Classic, the eight-team, three-day, 12-game bracketed event that has been staged the past six years in Anaheim.

While the Anaheim Classic started in 2007, the John R. Wooden Classic was established in 1994 as an annual tribute to the legendary coach (who passed away in 2010 at the age of 99) and the excellence he personified. The first 17 John R. Wooden Classic featured a doubleheader. The 2011 and 2012 classics had Wooden's UCLA team hosting a league and in-state rival in a one-game event.

The inaugural Anaheim Classic was played in 2007, with USC capturing the title. In year's following, Wake Forest (2008), West Virginia (2009), UNLV (2010), Saint Louis (2011) and Cal (2012) were also Anaheim Classic winners.

The Wooden Legacy (Schedule subject to change)

Thu, Nov 28
2 p.m. | Miami vs. George Washington | ESPNU
4:30 p.m. | Marquette vs. Cal State Fullerton | ESPN2
8:30 p.m. | College of Charleston vs. San Diego State | ESPNU
11 p.m. | Creighton vs. Arizona State | ESPN2

Fri, Nov 29
3:30 p.m. | Semifinal #1 | ESPN or ESPN2
6 p.m. | Consolation #1 | ESPN3
9:30 p.m. | Semifinal #2 | ESPN2
Midnight | Consolation #2 | ESPNU

Sun, Dec. 1
2 p.m. | 7th-place Game | ESPN3
4:30 p.m. | 5th-place Game | ESPNU
7 p.m. | 3rd-place Game | ESPNU
9:30 p.m. | Championship Game | ESPN2

Print Friendly Version